Throwback Thursday: All Because You Kissed Me Goodnight

Now a soft kiss – Aye, by that kiss, I vow an endless bliss. (John Keats)

I’m going to share to you another poem. You probably have read of this from somewhere else. If you haven’t yet, well, I seriously hope that you’d like it the same way that I did.

My first encounter with this poem was back when I was a college freshman. I had to go to Kalayaan Hall one day to make a project with a blockmate who was staying there. While waiting in the hallway outside her room, I saw this poem posted on the bulletin board. Back then I thought this was the cutest poem ever. Now, it still is, for me, the cutest. But it has now also become the cheesiest poem that I know.

All because you kissed me goodnight

I climbed the door, and opened the stairs,
Said my pajamas and put on my prayers,
Then turned off the bed and crawled into the light,
All because you kissed me goodnight.

Next morning, I woke and scrambled my shoes,
Polished my eggs and toasted the news,
I couldn’t tell my left from my right,
All because you kissed me goodnight.

That evening at last, I felt normal again,
So I picked up my mother, and called up the phone,
I spoke to the puppy and threw dad a bone
Even at midnight, the sun was still bright,
All because you kissed me goodnight.

by Sandy Roistan

One thought on “Throwback Thursday: All Because You Kissed Me Goodnight

  1. Pingback: Breaking Away Into Nothingness | EssayBoard

Leave a Reply

